Medical Marijuana State Revenue Statistics 2016
2016 State Revenue Statistics for Medical Marijuana
In Arizona, medical marijuana statistics 2016 has an estimated state tax revenue of $40 million for the year 2016. State tax is currently 6.6% and an additional 2-3% is added as a city tax. Recreational use of marijuana will be on the ballot this November. The tax rate for recreational use is stated to be 15%. The Phoenix Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, or AMMA, is run by the Arizona Department of Health Services. The current allowable purchase of medical marijuana is 2.5 ounces per person. If a patient is allowed to grow their own plants, he or she may grow up to 12 plants at a time.
From July 2015 to June 2016, the state of Washington has collected $5,236,536.01 in state sales tax for medical marijuana. The excise tax is 37% and payable to the Liquor and Cannabis Board, or LCB. As of July 1, 2016, there are new tax exemptions for the Sales and Use tax, but you must have a Medical Endorsement to benefit from this. Patients are allowed 3 ounces of marijuana, or 4-6 plants. There are also other allowable limits in solid, liquid, and concentrated forms.
From January to June of 2016, the state of Colorado has collected 7,414,551. The tax rate paid by consumers on marijuana is 10%, plus the normal state sales tax of 2.9%. The sales tax is not to be confused with the excise tax of 15%. The excise tax is paid by the cultivator to the retail store and is only paid on the first sale to that retailer. Medical marijuana is exempt from the excise tax. A patient may have up to 2 ounces at a time, or up to 6 plants, with no more than 3 mature plants.
Since January 2016, the state of Oregon has collected $14.9 million in taxes on recreational marijuana. Medical marijuana is not currently taxed. There is a temporary tax rate of 25% for recreational sales by medical dispensaries, which began on January 4, 2016. Around 400 medical marijuana dispensaries are participating in this program. It runs through the end of the year. The tax is paid at the point of sale. Products that can be sold by medical dispensaries include seeds, dried leaves, flowers, and non-flowering plants. The state is working on a full retail plan while the temporary plan is in place. The permanent tax rate for recreational use is said to be 17%. Patients may possess up to 24 ounces or 6 mature plants, however you must be a registered grow site in order to have plants.
Las Vegas, Nevada
For the year 2016, Nevada has set a revenue budget for the sale of medical marijuana at $1,042,975. The excise tax rate is 2% of the sales price and is the same for both wholesale and retail marijuana sales. The tax is charged each time a sale is made. This does not include paraphernalia. For retail sales, the regular 2% sales tax rate is also applied. In Nevada, patients are allowed to purchase 2.5 ounces every 2 weeks.
So far this year, the state of California is currently estimating $2.7 billion in medical marijuana revenue. The current state sales and use tax is 7.5%. Depending on where you live in California, some areas also charge a local tax. Medical marijuana can be exempt from the tax if both the medicine is prescribed by a doctor and it is provided by a registered pharmacist. The tax is regulated by the Board of Equalization, or BOE. If a patient has a medical marijuana card, or MMIC, or has a recommendation from a licensed physician, he or she may posses up to 6 mature or 12 immature plants, or up to but no more than 8 ounces of dried marijuana. Some patients may have the ability to posses more if their licensed physician decides more is needed to treat the patients’ condition.